Homeschool

The Ultimate Homeschool Guide to FREE Preschool Resources

Do you have little ones who like to stay busy? Most preschoolers like to play, explore, create, and stay on the move! If you have little ones at home, you’ll enjoy this list of printables, activities, websites, and ideas for keeping them busy doing something fun and educational.

 

Something that’s important to keep in mind when you’re thinking about teaching your preschoolers is that you don’t always need curriculum. There are some great ones out there, and we’re definitely in favor of using them if you find one you love that your preschoolers also enjoy. But there are lots of educational things you can do with your little ones that don’t require you to buy anything.

Only Passionate Curiosity. Use code coronahelp to get all for free! https://store.onlypassionatecuriosity.com/product-tag/preschool/

Cooking with children is one of the best ways to teach fractions! https://recipes.hiphomeschoolmoms.com/category/recipes/kids/

This is part of a series of FREE resources! To see the rest of the educational resources in this series, click here. 

Art

Cassie Stephens Robot Week! Home-Based Art Making https://cassiestephens.blogspot.com/2020/03/robot-week-home-based-art-making.html

Home Made Memory Game (This is listed in the art section because it involves painting with your toddler. If you don’t have the small wooden pieces to use for this activity, just make your own from cardboard cereal boxes or whatever you have on hand!) https://www.mothercould.com/blog-1/2016/6/6/home-made-memory-game

Window Painting (with fluffy paint!) https://www.mothercould.com/blog-1/window-painting?rq=toddler

Design Your Own Paper Dolls Printable https://kidsactivitiesblog.com/62841/design-your-own-paper-dolls/

10 Creative Art Activities for Preschoolers https://handsonaswegrow.com/creative-art-activities-for-preschoolers/

20+ Preschool Art Projects https://babbledabbledo.com/20-preschool-art-projects/

Creative Art Ideas for Preschoolers (Older Kids Will Love Them Too!) https://www.themeasuredmom.com/creative-art-ideas-preschoolers-older-kids-will-love-guest-post/

The Top 10 Educational Art Activities for Preschoolers https://www.earlychildhoodeducationzone.com/art-activities-for-preschoolers/

Play to Learn Preschool – Painting with Flowers (If you can’t buy carnations, use flowers from your yard or even crumpled tissue paper – the kind you use to stuff gift bags.)  https://playtolearnpreschool.us/painting-with-flowers/

32 Simple Yet Brilliant Art Ideas – These art ideas won’t all work for preschoolers, but many of them will, and you’ll love watching this video with all of the interesting and amazing art projects! https://youtu.be/jq9fqBpIr_Y

Easy Kids Drawings: Step-by-step Tutorials for Kids https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC39j1-_emTMedrUgH-Z7LEA

Art for Kids Hub https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5XMF3Inoi8R9nSI8ChOsdQ

Circle Time / Calendar / Etc.

DIY Portable Calendar Board  https://hiphomeschoolmoms.com/diy-portable-calendar-board/

Coloring Pages

The Farm Girl Gabs https://thefarmgirlgabs.com/1000-free-disney-coloring-pages-for-kids/

Crayola  https://www.crayola.com/featured/free-coloring-pages/

Best Coloring Pages for Kids  https://www.bestcoloringpagesforkids.com/free-printable-preschool-coloring-pages.html

Mom Junction preschool coloring pages https://www.momjunction.com/articles/preschool-coloring-pages-for-your-little-ones_0093774/

Language / Literacy

Audible – Look for the section for littlest listeners.  https://stories.audible.com/start-listen

Flyleaf Publishing https://portal.flyleafpublishing.com/

Living Montessori Now – Free Baby Sign Language Videos (Signs and Songs) https://livingmontessorinow.com/free-baby-sign-language-videos/

Vooks animated stories – 1 year free https://www.vooks.com/teacher-appreciation

FreeChildrenStories.com https://www.freechildrenstories.com/

Dog on a Log Books https://dogonalogbooks.com/printables/

Christopher Walken reads Where the Wild Things Are – https://youtu.be/KKNaYlzssbc

Grover reads The Monster at the End of This Book – https://youtu.be/42iXxfGiwDg

Kinetic Sight Word Activity with a Beach Ball https://kidsactivitiesblog.com/6586/kinetic-sight-word-activity/

Owl Moon Inspired Preschool Printables https://hiphomeschoolmoms.com/owl-moon-inspired-preschool-printables/

If you don’t have the Owl Moon book, you can see and hear it read aloud by the author on YouTube. https://youtu.be/FYSgG2cK4ng

5 Ways to Help Your Kids Love Read Alouds  https://hiphomeschoolmoms.com/five-ways-help-kids-love-read-alouds/

Get Outdoors and Enjoy an ABC Nature Walk https://hiphomeschoolmoms.com/get-outdoors-enjoy-abc-nature-walk/

Books for Littles (Preschool and Lower Elementary Ages) – If your local library is closed and you can’t order these books, try looking for them being read aloud on YouTube. – https://hiphomeschoolmoms.com/books-for-littles-preschool-and-lower-elementary-ages/

Math

Fun on the Farm with Apple Tree Math (To get this set of printables for free, use the code coronahelp) https://onlypassionatecuriosity.com/apple-tree-math/

Preschool Leaf Math https://hiphomeschoolmoms.com/preschool-leaf-math/

Preschool Math with Counting Bears (Free Printable)  https://hiphomeschoolmoms.com/preschool-math-counting-bears-free-printable/

Fun with Preschool Math https://hiphomeschoolmoms.com/fun-preschool-math/

How I Taught My 4-Year-Old Number ID 0-100 in a Day  https://hiphomeschoolmoms.com/how-i-taught-my-4-year-old-number-id-0-100in-a-day/

25 Math Activities for Kids Who Hate Math https://kidsactivitiesblog.com/70504/math-games-for-kids/

Feed the Giraffe Mats  https://www.prekinders.com/feed-the-giraffe-mats/

Play Dough Sweet Shop https://theimaginationtree.com/play-dough-sweet-shop/

10 Fun Play Dough Math Ideas https://kidsactivitiesblog.com/11092/play-with-math/

Finding Shapes in Nature https://kidsactivitiesblog.com/11092/play-with-math/

Music

Sing Along with Emily Arrow  https://www.youtube.com/emilyarrow

Songs for Teaching https://www.songsforteaching.com/intellitunes/ican.htm

Laurie Berkner Band https://www.facebook.com/LaurieBerknerBand/

Physical Education / Dance

13 Homeschool PE Ideas https://onlypassionatecuriosity.com/13-homeschool-pe-ideas/

Free Online Frozen Dance Class  https://youtu.be/iG6rxoVWRoQ

Free Online Trolls Dance Class https://youtu.be/wCopCD0XYu8

Free Online Moana Dance Class https://youtu.be/GFhrX4rFyAU

Free Online Toy Story Dance Class https://youtu.be/cI-nwppANoU

Forest Friends Ballet Class  https://youtu.be/SF6OJY9kMTE

Where the Wild Things Are Ballet Class https://youtu.be/ZMufW5rOcnY

We’re Going on a Bear Hunt Kids Ballet Class https://youtu.be/QUDwK1d04w0

12 YouTube Channels to Get Kids Moving Indoors https://www.hellodadventures.com/2020/03/12-youtube-channels-to-get-kids-moving-indoors/

Planning / Organization /Misc.

How to Care for Toddlers While Homeschooling https://hiphomeschoolmoms.com/how-to-care-for-toddlers/

10 Tips for Organizing Your Homeschool Room for Preschoolers https://hiphomeschoolmoms.com/10-tips-for-organizing-your-homeschool-room-for-preschoolers/

Teaching Kids with Fidgets and Wiggles https://hiphomeschoolmoms.com/teaching-kids-with-fidgets-wiggles/

Science

Only Passionate Curiosity Plant Science Right in Your Kitchen https://onlypassionatecuriosity.com/plant-science-right-in-your-kitchen/

Only Passionate Curiosity – Weather Interactive Notebook (Where it says “Pay what you can,” enter 0.00 for the price to get this for free.) https://onlypassionatecuriosity.com/weather-interactive-notebook/

Float Your Boat – Water Displacement and Buoyancy https://www.mothercould.com/blog-1/float-your-boat?rq=toddler

Dancing Raisins Science Experiment for Kids https://buggyandbuddy.com/dancing-raisins-science-experiment-science-invitation-saturday/

Clean Ocean Project https://www.mothercould.com/blog-1/2016/8/23/clean-ocean-project?rq=toddler

15 Amazing Edible Playdough Recipes https://kidsactivitiesblog.com/53932/edible-playdough-recipes/

How to Make Unicorn Slime https://kidsactivitiesblog.com/109482/unicorn-slime/

Exploring Sound with a Hanger and String https://buggyandbuddy.com/exploring-sound-with-a-hanger-science-invitation-saturday/

Various / Multiple Subjects / Misc.

Worksheet Fun https://www.worksheetfun.com/preschool-worksheets/

Indoor Activities for busy toddlers
https://busytoddler.com/2020/03/indoor-activities/

Play with fave show characters and learn too https://pbskids.org/

300,000+ FREE printable worksheets from toddlers to teens https://www.123homeschool4me.com/home-school-free-printabl…/

Free Printables for PreK-2nd Grade https://www.teacherspayteachers.com/…/Lite…/Price-Range/Free

Free printables library with activities for children 0-6 https://www.littlesparkcompany.com/printables-library

Around the House Toddler Play https://kidsactivitiesblog.com/47804/around-house-toddler-play/

Virtual Field Trips

Be sure to take a look at our article sharing free virtual field trips too! You’ll find some that your little ones will love! https://hiphomeschoolmoms.com/the-ultimate-homeschool-guide-to-free-virtual-field-trips/

About the author

Wendy

Wendy is one of the owners of Hip Homeschool Moms, Only Passionate Curiosity, and Love These Recipes. She married her high school sweetheart, Scott, 28 years ago, and they live in the South with their three children. Hannah, age 24, has autism and was the first homeschool graduate in the family. Noah, age 22, was the second homeschool graduate. Mary Grace, age 17, is the remaining homeschool student. Wendy loves working out and teaching Training for Warriors classes at her local gym. She also enjoys learning along with her family, educational travel, reading, and writing, and she attempts to grow an herb garden every summer with limited success.

About the author

Trish

Trish is one of the owners of Hip Homeschool Moms. She has been married to her best friend, David, for 22 years and they have three sons (ages 19, 17 and 15). Trish is from the coast of North Carolina, but they now live in rural West Tennessee on a 40+ acre farm. She has been homeschooling since 2009 and her homeschool style leans towards a Montessori approach with a heavy emphasis on hands-on learning. Trish’s family is Messianic and they love studying the Scriptures, learning Hebrew and growing in their faith and walk daily. In her spare time, Trish loves to travel, write, work in their garden and can regularly be found trying to learn something new, modeling that learning is indeed a life-long endeavor!

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Topics