Homeschool

The Ultimate Homeschool Guide to FREE Science Resources

Science is a subject that can add some fun to your homeschool when you’re stuck at home! Below you’ll find lots of lessons, YouTube videos, experiments, printables, cooking experiments, STEM activities, projects, and more!

This is part of a series of FREE resources! To see the rest of the educational resources in this series, click here. 

Only Passionate Curiosity. Use code coronahelp to get all for free!  https://store.onlypassionatecuriosity.com/product-category/science/

Apologia https://www.apologia.com/activities-for-kids/?a_aid=5a021808c87aa

Apologia is also sharing some great STEM educational activities using materials you already have around your house. Watch these fun videos with your kiddos and give them a try! https://www.facebook.com/watch/hiphomeschoolmoms/217672232657617/

3P Learning. Early Childhood, K – 2nd, 3rd – 5th, 6th – 8th, High School 3plearning.com/distance-teaching

ABC Mouse https://www.tkqlhce.com/f6102uoxuowBJCEHDJEBDGCCHGDG  Ages 2-8. 

Actively Learn https://www.activelylearn.com/

Adventure 2 Learning. Video-driven learning platform that curates active learning resources specifically designed for classroom use https://adventure2learning.com//

Back Pack Sciences Hands on Elem science videos https://www.backpacksciences.com/science-simplified

Brilliant https://brilliant.org/

Canopy Lab https://canopylab.com/detailed-overview-of-our-free-offerings-to-all-educational-institutions/

Carolina Lab, Resources for learning from home https://www.carolina.com/learningfromhome

CDC Solve the Outbreak Game https://www.cdc.gov/mobile/applications/sto/web-app.html

CK 12 Science k – 12 https://www.ck12.org/student/

Club SciKidz Daily free science or cooking experiment to do at home. http://www.clubscikidzmd.com/blog/

The Concord Consortium Interactive STEM Activities A collection of hundreds of free K-12 STEM resources, from standalone models and simulations to short activities and week long sequences of curriculum materials. https://learn.concord.org/

Crash Course https://www.youtube.com/user/crashcourse

Discovery Mind Blown https://www.discoverymindblown.com/about

Everyday Earth Interactive video earth science based curriculum supplement. https://www.everyday-earth.com/

Farmer’s Almanac for kids… Date, weather, moon phase, etc. https://www.almanac.com/kids

Funology Crafts, projects, science, recipes for young children https://www.funology.com/

The Happy Scientist Just explore, have fun, and learn some science along the way. https://thehappyscientist.com/

Help Teaching. Teacher Worksheets, Tests, Activities, Lessons, and Games for PreK-12. Printable & online resources for educators: teachers, tutors, trainers, and homeschool parents.  https://www.helpteaching.com/

Hippo Campus https://hippocampus.org/HippoCampus/

Houston Children’s Museum https://www.cmhouston.org/classroom-curriculum?exhibits=%5B%5D&grades=%5B%5D&page=1&subject=%5B%5D

How to Smile https://www.howtosmile.org/

IXL https://www.ixl.com/ 

Jr. Brain Pop https://jr.brainpop.com/

Khan Academy https://www.khanacademy.org/

Kids Discover https://online.kidsdiscover.com/

Maker Stations 3 Free Weeks of maker stations to keep your children creating at home! Each challenge includes simple instructions using materials around the house, QR code video resources, and a student recording sheet. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1T4CZCt8hJqYLVT5ZVYpR7SgHLWDWaaUO/view

Middle School Science – Free Lesson plans and resources for grades 5-8 https://middleschoolscience.com/

Mystery Science K-5th Science lessons https://mysteryscience.com/

Numinds https://www.numinds.tv/

OLogy! A Science website for Kids from the American Museum of Natural History

Red T Kids Critical Thinking resources for K-6 students https://marketplace.mythinkscape.com/store/redtkids

Science Buddies https://www.sciencebuddies.org/

Science labs and simulations https://phet.colorado.edu/

Science Learning https://bscs.org/resources/educator-resource-center/online-resources-during-covid-19-shutdown/

Skype a Scientist https://www.skypeascientist.com/for-families.html

Smarter Everyday. Explore the world using science. https://www.youtube.com/user/destinws2/videos

Steve Spangler Science Tons of science experiments that you can do at home https://www.stevespanglerscience.com/lab/experiments/

Teach-nology https://www.teach-nology.com/subjects/science/

Ted Talks for Kids https://www.ted.com/playlists/86/talks_to_watch_with_kids

The Kids Should See This https://thekidshouldseethis.com/

Tyto Online Next Generation Science video game focused on middle school where students directly engage in science phenomena as they solve problems. https://www.tytoonline.com/

Washington State University. Ask Dr. Universe is a science-education project. Kids can send Dr. Universe any question they may have about history, geography, plants, animals, technology, engineering, math, culture, and more.
https://askdruniverse.wsu.edu/

Wonderopolis https://wonderopolis.org/

AP

Marco Learning was created to help students gain confidence in their AP® classes and improve on AP® exams. Resources for AP students https://marcolearning.com/

Astronomy

Access Mars – The real surface of Mars. https://accessmars.withgoogle.com/

Amazing Space https://amazingspace.org/capture

Astro Stem an online platform for courses, activities, applications, workshops, games, current science and educational news http://www.astrostem.org/

ExpoPlanet Exploration NASA https://exoplanets.nasa.gov/

NASA Glenn Virtual Tours https://www.nasa.gov/glennvirtualtours

NASA Space science for kiddos https://www.nasa.gov/kidsclub/index.html

Space Foundation Discovery Center https://www.discoverspace.org/education/for-educators/stem-lesson-plans/

Stellarium http://stellarium.org/

Storytime from Space https://storytimefromspace.com/ada-lace-part-1/

Biology

Biology Simulations https://www.biologysimulations.com/

Science simulations, scientist profiles, and other digital resources for middle school science and high school biology. https://sepuplhs.org/

Biology Corner  https://www.biologycorner.com/

CDC Solve the Outbreak Game https://www.cdc.gov/mobile/applications/sto/web-app.html

Cells Alive Learn all about cells https://www.cellsalive.com/

Coronavirus Unit Study https://betterworlded.org/coronavirus-learning-unit/

Innerbody explores the 11 bodily systems in depth. With interactive models and detailed explanations, this website will help them learn more about the internal mechanics of the amazing human body. https://www.innerbody.com/htm/body.html

Botany

Guide to gardening for kids https://web.extension.illinois.edu/firstgarden/

The Great Sunflower Project https://www.greatsunflower.org/

Chemistry

Chem Matters High school chemistry topics https://www.acs.org/content/acs/en/education/resources/highschool/chemmatters/articles-by-topic.html

Chemicool Learn all about the periodic table https://www.chemicool.com/

Chemistry https://www.playmadagames.com/

Earth Science 

USGS Learn all about earthquakes https://earthquake.usgs.gov/learn/kids/

This NASA initiative covers a wide range of topics including weather, climate, atmosphere, water, energy, plants, and animals. https://climatekids.nasa.gov/

Weather Wiz Kids. From rainbows to tornadoes and winter storms to tsunamis, meteorologist Crystal Wicker breaks down the fascinating world of weather. http://www.weatherwizkids.com/

Physics

Positive Physics An online physics problem and video bank designed for conceptual, standard, honors or AP1 physics. https://www.positivephysics.org/home

Technology

Australian Computing Academy https://aca.edu.au/resources

Beta Box Learning https://k12.betaboxlearning.com/covid19/

BlockSmith for Education https://www.blocksmithxr.com/education

Certiport https://gocertiport.pearsonvue.com/learning-product-trial

Zoology

Alaska Wildlife cams http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=viewing.webcams

Cincinnati Zoo Home Safari http://cincinnatizoo.org/home-safari-resources/

Explore Live Animal Cams https://explore.org/livecams

Georgia Aquarium Beluga Whale Cam https://www.georgiaaquarium.org/webcam/beluga-whale-webcam/

Houston Zoo Animal Cams https://www.houstonzoo.org/explore/webcams/

Kansas Zoo Underwater Penguin Cam https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bPSDuWytSPI&feature=youtu.be&fbclid=IwAR0c31FAA0oC86RUwDbzOT67kciNUPnGUlIZ7X4mjlHBkQ0ChjOTDBX1Mm0

Lost Ladybug http://www.lostladybug.org/

Monterey Bay Aquarium Cams https://www.montereybayaquarium.org/animals/live-cams

National Geographic for Kids – Geography and animals https://kids.nationalgeographic.com/

Ouwehand Park Polar Bear Twin Cubs https://explore.org/livecams/polar-bears/polar-bear-ouwehand-twin-cubs-cam-2

Panda Cam https://zooatlanta.org/panda-cam/

Pittsburgh Zoo Live Cams https://www.pittsburghzoo.org/bringing-the-zoo-to-you/

San Diego Zoo has a website just for kids with amazing videos, activities, and games. Enjoy the tour! https://kids.sandiegozoo.org/

Sea world Orland Virtual Tour https://www.visitorlando.com/en/things-to-do/virtual-tours/seaworld-orlando

Switch Zoo – Play games and learn all about animals https://switchzoo.com/

Zoo view TV http://www.zooview.tv/

 

About the author

Trish

Trish is one of the owners of Hip Homeschool Moms. She has been married to her best friend, David, for 22 years and they have three sons (ages 19, 17 and 15). Trish is from the coast of North Carolina, but they now live in rural West Tennessee on a 40+ acre farm. She has been homeschooling since 2009 and her homeschool style leans towards a Montessori approach with a heavy emphasis on hands-on learning. Trish’s family is Messianic and they love studying the Scriptures, learning Hebrew and growing in their faith and walk daily. In her spare time, Trish loves to travel, write, work in their garden and can regularly be found trying to learn something new, modeling that learning is indeed a life-long endeavor!

About the author

Wendy

Wendy is one of the owners of Hip Homeschool Moms, Only Passionate Curiosity, and Love These Recipes. She married her high school sweetheart, Scott, 28 years ago, and they live in the South with their three children. Hannah, age 24, has autism and was the first homeschool graduate in the family. Noah, age 22, was the second homeschool graduate. Mary Grace, age 17, is the remaining homeschool student. Wendy loves working out and teaching Training for Warriors classes at her local gym. She also enjoys learning along with her family, educational travel, reading, and writing, and she attempts to grow an herb garden every summer with limited success.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Topics