Homeschool Subject

Sonrise Stable Series ~ Books 1 & 2 Review

Sonrise Stable series Review

The Sonrise Stable series is the heartwarming, continuing story of an extended homeschooling family as they live, learn, and love together. Mixing adventure, life lessons, and realistic horse experiences, the series is a must for readers who enjoy family values, Christian faith, and, of course, horses!

One of Vicki Watson’s purposes in creating this series is to provide good, wholesome fiction for horse-crazy children. There is no swearing, no divorce, no alcohol or drug use, and no boyfriend/girlfriend relationships. The children are polite and respectful to their elders. Since their family homeschooled in real life, she wanted that to play an important role in the series,  thus the main character, Rosie, and her cousins are homeschooled.

I was immediately drawn to the Sonrise Stable series because my 6 year old loves horses, thus I was thrilled to received the first two books in the series, Rosie and Scamper and Carrie and Bandit in exchange fro my honest review.  From the moment we began reading them she was hooked!  One of the main characters in the story is Rosie, an eight year girl.  Rosie’s high energy enthusiasm and relatable child like qualities made her an instant hit with my daughter.

Vicki Watson’s style of writing is easy to follow and understand.  Each chapter is comparable to a short story that ends with an obvious lead in to the next by means of leaving a specific time period or event to look forward to in the coming chapter.  She creates a warm, endearing relationship between Rosie and her grandma.  Grandma lives on a farm with a horse barn which Rosie, who is homeschooled, gets to spend a great deal of time.  Along their journey a variety of great relationships are developed and your horse knowledge is increased exponentially.

A main feature of the books uses Grandma as a sort of moral compass.  When a situation arises Grandma usually has a relatable life story from her life as well as a correlation to a Bible story, lesson or verse.   In this way the books are able to take things as difficult as death or as everyday common as disobeying and create a helpful life lesson for the child who is engaged in reading the story (or having it read to them).

After reading just a few chapters of the first book, Rosie and Scamper I knew we had found a series of books my daughter would treasure.  The next books in the series, Clothed With Thunder and Tender Mercies are on our list to purchase so that we can continue to follow the characters we have grown to know and love.

The Sonrise Stable series is good, wholesome, heartwarming reading for young girls and preteens.  You can leave your child to read these books knowing only good values and life lessons await them amidst the pages.

About the author


Heidi lives in upstate New York where the winters are long & cold, but where she truly appreciates the lack of extreme weather such as tsunamis and hurricanes! Her house is filled up with her loving husband of 17 years, 3 busy children, & 2 dogs (Muffin & Oscar). Homeschooling started out as a trial run with a child beginning 2nd grade, & almost 9 years later has become a lifestyle which brings great joy. You can often find her behind her camera, or working something out in Photoshop. With 3 children homeschooling multiple ages is the norm in their house. You can find her writing at on her own blog, Starts At Eight where she often focuses on homeschooling high school, elementary unit studies, and books/reading.


Click here to post a comment